Collaborate and Create, Web 2.0

Today I participated in a very useful hands-on workshop hosted by SLAV. WE were shown a range of web 2.0 tools and got information about cybersafty, digital copyright and a resource rich wiki.

My head was swirling after a while and unfortunately we ourselves became the victim of modern technology – suffering from a very poor server and slooow connection to the net. Anyhow I will share some of the useful links in the sidebar.

Since I posted the last time I have been ver very busy: writing two assignments and a job application! Now that is all done and I treated myself with a great adventure: I went flying in a Microlight airplane on sunday morning – it was absolutely wonderful!

So now it is back to the books, getting ready for the next assignment(s). The topic for ETL 401 is all about information literacy and the role of the teacher librarian. I have been reading a few definitions so far (Langford, 1998), Abilock (2004) and Herring / Tarter (2007). I found Langfords Definition interesting – also taking in consideration that the Articel is 13 years old and still very up to date. Also Herring’s / Tarter’s Definition is clarifying. i will have to choose one definition for Assignment 2, not sure yet which one. After reading the first 2 topics I seemed to have a pretty clear picture about what information literacy is, now it shows that there is more to this words, so I am curious, what I will learn.

Leave a comment