The Teacher Librarian – Roles and Role Dilemmas

During the last week I have been reading, and reading, and writing and writing…. I got started with some ideas for the assignment, but found it more difficult than I imagined to write it in English.

I read different role description on the TL and I can definitely see a lot of challenges and maybe role dilemmas: It is one thing to recognize the different roles and to describe them, but quite another to adequately fill them out in everyday librarian life.

 As a teacher with more than 12 years teaching background I would love to see more of me being a teacher, but that requires two basic conditions: first, more time to prepare lessons and secondly colleagues who are willing to cooperate. Especially the cooperation with the colleagues is a point that I see skeptical at this stage, because for them I am, “the New” – their confidence in my skills, knowledge and experience (at least I do have them as a teacher) is not very high. I hope that this will change, slowly but steadily and will keep Ken Haycock’s “Collaboration: Critical Success Factors for Student Learning” in mind.

Today I participated in a  SLAV School Library Association of Victoria  meeting and was pleased to meet other TL and being able to start networking.

Now it’s time to dig into some more of Herrings and Purcells theses.

Finishing of with the translation of a poster from my school back in Germany: 

Shock your teachers – read a book!

 

1 thought on “The Teacher Librarian – Roles and Role Dilemmas

  1. You should enlighten your colleagues on the education one has to go through in order to become a teacher in Germany! Take my daughter for instance. She has to study at university for five years and then enter the student teacher program for another two years. In addition to this you have 12 years of experience as an actual independent teacher and you had the responsibility for your own class. And in addition to this your interaction with your German colleagues and your additional tasks besides teaching are extensive. I hope they’ll soon realize your considerable education and experience as a teacher and let you teach full time.

Leave a comment