ETL 504 Teacher Librarian as a Leader

This course subject was “Teacher Librarian as a leader”. It brought two assignment tasks. For the first assignment we had to reflect on different leadership styles and how we would deal with these leaders. Also we had to write a planning brief about a PD that we would like to offer, using the CBAM model.

To read about the different leadership styles was an eye opener. If we can develop an understanding regarding different leadership styles, we can answer to these leaders in an appropriate way – which in the end will be our benefit.

The second assignment was more related to direct library work as we had to formulate a vision statement , describing where we see the library in three years time.

I found this assignment challenging and did not as good as I hoped, but definitely learned a lot.  It was a positive experience to visualise “my” library in the future. However some of the readings were very theoretical and I sometimes wonder when was the last time some of the authors have actually set a foot into a public school library and worked with today’s students.

Half of the Master course is now over and I certainly look back on a very steep learning curve. I enjoy to become more and more knowledable and be able to communicate my ideas to school members and leaders. I can see the effect as colleagues more and more often come to seek advise or help.

Leave a comment